How to delete Instagram and save your photos

Sometimes you want to take a break from social networks. We will tell you how to delete or temporarily disable your Instragram account, saving your photos.

Now it is fashionable to get rid of social media profiles. It's funny, but it is through social networks that this trend often spreads - take the hashtag #DeleteFacebook, for example. Or this post - it's very likely that you found a link to it on social media. Instagram is no exception to the popular trend. The desire to delete one's account can be caused by a variety of reasons, but in general, the idea of leaving the second largest social network today is gaining more and more followers.

For me, for example, the reason was that I was tired of feeling miserable and jealous of others, looking at all those pictures of delicious food I hadn't tasted and beautiful places I hadn't been to. After only five minutes on Instagram I start to think that my life is unbearably boring (although in fact it is not at all), so I decided to stop using this social platform altogether.

In this article, I'll explain how to back up your Instagram profile, temporarily disable it, or even leave this social network for good by completely deleting your account.

How to back up your Instagram profile

What's convenient is that when you back up your Instagram profile, you can save almost any information that pertains to your profile. You can download not only the photos themselves, but also a bunch of other data: all your likes, comments, contacts, photo captions, including all hashtags used, and even your search terms and settings.

However, everything except photos will be packed into JSON (JavaScript Object Notation) files. You can open such files and try to read them with simple text editors - Notepad, Wordpad, TextEdit and so on - but it's not very convenient to extract information from a mishmash of symbols.

Fortunately, you get the photos in normal, human JPEG format -- and they're even sorted into folders for each date. One small problem: all photos will have a characteristically "Instagram" low resolution - 1080 x 1080. Since that's how they're stored on the social network, there's nothing you can do about it-just keep that in mind.

 

How to back up your Instagram data via the Android or iOS app

 

To order a backup of your Instagram profile from your smartphone or tablet, follow these steps:

Open the Instagram app.

  • Tap the profile button - it's the rightmost button on the bottom bar, to the right of the heart.
  • Click on the menu button (three horizontal bars) in the top right corner.
  • At the very bottom of the panel that appears is the Settings button - that's the one you need.
  • Scroll down to the Privacy & Security section and select Download Data.
  • Instagram will show you the email address that your account is linked to. If you want the data to be delivered to some other address, you can specify it.
  • Confirm the email to deliver the backup archive and enter your Instagram password.
  • That's it. Within 48 hours (it's usually much faster - a few minutes), Instagram will send you a link to download the archive with all your data.
  • Open the email from Instagram in your email app and click the link.
  • This will open the Instagram login page. Enter your username and password to log into your account.
  • Click Download Data. A ZIP archive of photos and other information related to your profile will begin downloading.

How to back up your Instagram data using a web browser

Backing up your Instagram profile from a browser is a bit easier, especially if you're using a computer or laptop. Here's what it takes:

  • Open your browser, go to Instagram.com and log in with your current credentials.
  • Click on your profile avatar in the upper-right corner of the screen.
  • Click Edit Profile next to your name.
  • From the menu on the left, select Privacy & Security.
  • Scroll through the list that opens and select Request File under Download Data. Instagram will then send you an email with a link to the archive, which will contain photos and other information from your profile.
  • Next, it's the same as with the app: when you receive an email from Instagram, open it in the app or browser and click the link.
  • This will open the Instagram login page. Enter your username and password to log in to your account.
  • Click Download Data. A ZIP archive with your photos and other information related to your profile will begin downloading.

Now that your photos are backed up and uploaded to your computer, you can delete your Instagram profile.

 

How to delete an Instagram account

If you dig into the Instagram settings in the web browser, you can find only the option to temporarily disable the profile. But there is also a secret link, knowing which you can delete the profile permanently. Below we will discuss both options. Note that Instagram does not allow you to delete or temporarily disable the account from the mobile app: you will have to open the web interface in the browser.

 

How to temporarily disable an Instagram account via the web interface

  • Launch your browser and open Instagram.com.
  • Enter your username and password, if necessary, and click Sign in.
  • Click on your profile avatar in the upper right corner of the screen.
  • Click Edit Profile next to your name.
  • At the bottom of the screen, you'll find the Temporary block my account link - click it.
  • Choose from the list the reason you're disabling your account, enter your password, and click Temporarily lock my account.
  • Click Yes. Your account is now locked. This means that your profile, comments, and likes will be hidden until you turn it back on.

How to completely delete an Instagram account through the web interface

  • Click this link or open your browser and type https://www.instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/ in the address bar.
  • Enter your Instagram credentials.

Choose from the list the reason you're deleting your account, enter your password, and click the big red button that says Irrevocably delete my account.

Click OK. Your account will be deleted. Keep in mind that it will not be possible to restore it in this case. So if you're still in doubt, it's best to temporarily lock your profile.

 

How to reactivate your Instagram account

If you decide not to delete your account permanently, but only to temporarily block it, it's pretty easy to unlock your account again: Just log in with your credentials to either the app or to Instagram.com.

Unlike Twitter, Instagram doesn't disable your account permanently, no matter how much time has passed, so you don't have to worry about your profile disappearing if you don't visit it for a while. Unlike Twitter, however, Instagram won't allow you to turn your account back on immediately after you've submitted a request to disable it. According to Instagram rules, it takes a few hours after you submit your request to disable your account. So you'll have to wait for the account to turn off first - and only then turn it back on.

 

 

 

 

 

It might be interesting

Avatar Come to be the iPhone of Movies

The 3 hour long movie “Avatar” has come to be a massive success with their new screening and showing as a form of bringing a new form of technological entertainment right in front of you.